Follow your instincts!

Posted: August 29, 2012 in books

I overheard two people talking about how they thought a new mother was overreacting to  a rash her son was covered in so i decided to share a story about my own son which shows overreacting is sometimes a good thing. when he was four months old i noticed he had just one spot on his forehead that wouldn’t disappear when i pressed on it. it didn’t sit right with me and i had already had three children before him so i wasn’t new to motherhood. i took him straight to the doctors who had the cheek to pull out a magnifying glass, told me i may be overreacting but she gave me a note telling me to go up to a&e in the morning if i was still concerned but that she didn’t think it was a problem. i took him home even my husband thought i was overreacting! next morning when i get up my son was covered head to toe in a rash which looked like meningitis, i rushed him up the hospital who proceeded to lay into me for not bringing him sooner as they hooked him up to antibiotics. i handed them the note telling them i was only following my doctors advice, they read the note telling me my doctor didn’t think anything of it and that i was a young mother worrying without reason. the nurse who read this was straight on the phone to my doctor telling her how incompetent she was, left with my son who continued smiling and babbling like he didn’t see what the fuss was about i began to panic i mean the survival rate for a four month old baby surviving meningitis is very slim. everytime someone touched him he bruised, we went from that to suspected leukemia and was whisked off for a bone marrow test and the trainee nurse in the room with us was telling me how excited she was to be seeing this done on a child so young! i was promptly removed from the room since i lost my temper with her excitement! turned out my son had Idiopathic thrombocytopenic purpura

What is ITP?

NetDoctor

Purpura rash on the forearm

Thrombocytopenia is the medical term for a low platelet count. Idiopathic means unknown cause. Purpura refers to the pin-prick bleeding under the surface of the skin that is a symptom of the low platelet count.

In ITP, antibodies coat the surfaces of the platelets, destroying them and causing their level to drop.

For a full description of platelets and the causes and effects of a low platelet count, see the factsheet on thrombocytopenia.

Types of ITP

ITP can be divided into two different forms.

  • Acute ITP starts suddenly and usually follows a viral illness in a child. Acute ITP may require no treatment, especially if the platelet count does not fall too low and there is little bleeding. It usually improves spontaneously and, in children at least, rarely comes back.
  • Chronic ITP develops over time, is long lasting and more common in adults. It may not need treatment if the platelet level doesn’t pose a significant risk of bleeding. Any such assessment should take account of your lifestyle, such as participation in contact sports or manual work.

he’s fine now but my point is go with your instincts no matter what other people say, i’m just glad it wasn’t meningitis because by following my doctors instructions it may have been too late for my son.

Leave a Reply

