My favorite author

Posted: March 19, 2013 in books

Image

 

This author always reminds me of my younger years, I spent many days trawling bookshops in search of his books. I was hooked from the first one I read, can’t remember the actual name since I have read so many since then and also apparently not all of them as I had first thought. I have found many more that I have not read and are conveniently available in e-book which of course I downloaded straight to my kindle 🙂 Although not as well known as the likes of Dean Koontz and Stephen King he is just as talented and it is such a shame that he is no longer with us to continue with his work.

Richard Carl Laymon (January 14, 1947 – February 14, 2001) was an American author of suspense and horror fiction, particularly within the splatterpunk subgenre. Richard Laymon died in 2001 of a massive heart attack and is survived by his wife, Ann, and daughter, Kelly. He was born and raised outside of Chicago, Illinois, then lived in Tiburon, California, as a teen. He graduated from Redwood High School, then pursued a BA in English Literature from Willamette University in Oregon and an MA in English Literature from Loyola University in Los Angeles. His works include more than sixty short stories and more than thirty novels, a few of which were published under the pseudonym Richard Kelly. However, despite praise from prominent writers from within the genre, including Stephen King and Dean Koontz, Laymon was little known in his homeland—he enjoyed greater success in Europe, though, particularly in the United Kingdom—until his affiliation with Leisure Books in 1999.

Here are a few of his books, if you like the horror genre then you should go check them out you won’t be disappointed.

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Comments
  1. Stacy Margaret Allan says:

    I love Richard Laymon’s books 😀 x x

  2. I did get a few out of the library myself since the book shops didn’t hold that many copies, they really are quite creepy I would love to see a few of them made into films 🙂

Leave a Reply

