Obsessive- compulsive disorder

Posted: April 12, 2013 in books

I don’t really know much about this disorder apart from what I have looked up. My five year old is apparently showing symptoms according to her school and I’m not really sure what it all means. I have mentioned in a previous post about the schools eagerness to label my child with something although on this occasion I may agree with them. It’s only minor things like her issue with socks, the toe part has to be straight as does the heel and she really hates the side bits that tend to stick out where your toes go. We spend ages getting them on in the mornings and if it was up to her she wouldn’t wear them at all. However once they are on she is fine and they don’t bother her until the next day when we have to repeat the frustrating process all over again.

When it comes to skirts, trousers, leggings etc the line in the middle and all seams have to be perfectly straight and she won’t allow any waistband to cover her navel they all have to be below it.

When it comes to hair, she refuses to have her hair up. She doesn’t like it when the hair bobble slips and is forever asking to have it pushed up so now she leaves her hair down at all times (not very helpful if there is an out break of head lice since her hair is waist length)

School shoes and some trainers can be a problem if they have velcro straps, again these have to be perfectly aligned.

The symptoms she displays are only when it comes to dressing, I did read this when I researched :

Less common ritual behaviours include:

· dressing in a precise and predetermined fashion;

· entering or leaving the home or car in the ‘correct’ way (which may seem bizarre to an observer), and repeating these behaviours.

If obsessions and compulsions do not take up more than an hour a day and are not significantly interfering with life function, then this person has OC symptoms but would not be diagnosed as having OCD.

So does this mean she just has symptoms of OCD? Will it eventually go away or become worse?

Comments
  1. stacyauk says:

    She should be ok Linda, she might not grow out of it as she gets older but it will become less of an important issue because she will be so used to dealing with it every day. I have had weird tendencies like this since I was a child. If adverts come on the tv I mute them. If my socks are on wrong or covers are wrapped around my feet I need to fix it right away. If things are nearly touching each other but not quite then I need to move them further apart or closer together. They are all really silly things but I just get on with it and concentrate on the more important stuff x x 😀

    • I hope so Stacy, it just seems that she has new little obsessions turning up out of the blue. I try to be understanding but it can be very frustrating especially when trying to get her out of the door and to school

  2. I visited several web sites except the audio feature for audio songs present at this website is really
    marvelous.

  3. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that
    I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

    • Thank you for your comment, i’m pleased you have been enjoying my blog. I try to post regularly but I have quite a few commitments and other sites to update as well as this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

