Does being a writer put a strain on your relationship?

Posted: April 27, 2013 in books

I want to hear from all you writers out there, personally since I began my series I have to say it has put a strain on my relationship at times. There is so much that goes into writing a book and even though I can be in the same room as everyone while I’m writing It doesn’t actually mean I am there. I am totally wrapped up in my thoughts that I can completely ignore my surroundings while making up my own little world :).

It is difficult since I am busy during the day and usually don’t get time to write until later in the day when most people settle down as a family. It becomes even worse when I am editing and I sometimes continue deep into the night wanting to get it finished. So many ideas run through my brain that I simply have to write them down and my family do find this hard to deal with sometimes.

They are supportive to a degree but sometimes feel that they are not wanted, obviously this isn’t the case. I love writing and since I am doing a series plus a few other projects, I need the alone time to concentrate. Am I being selfish? I don’t think I am, I wouldn’t ask them to give up something they enjoyed doing. Is it just me who is like this? How do you find time to write? I do try to limit the amount of time I spend on writing but any less and I wouldn’t be able to write at all!

Am I alone in this?

Leave a Reply

