To save someone

Posted: October 26, 2013 in books

Have you ever had someone tell you, that you have saved them from something? I have. Nothing as amazing as saving their life, but in a way that is what’s suggested. I have been with my husband since my teenage years, and when I met him he was on a downward slope. Details aside, his life was pretty messed up and not heading in a good direction. We got together and not long after I became pregnant with my first child, his previous downward spiral improved and he says I was the one to save him from the slippery path of destruction he was on. Can I really take credit for that? I admit his situation at one point was life threatening, but it may have turned around without my interference. We have a large family (contraception is not my friend, I always seem to find the 1% that is ineffective :)) it has been a long struggle and still is. Maybe if we had continued on separate paths he may have become a multi- millionaire or maybe I would have. I guess we will never know, but to say to someone ‘you saved me’ in my opinion isn’t strictly true. We both could have lived very different lives, possibly without the years of struggling or may have even been worse off. Don’t get me wrong, I love my life but I really can’t take credit for an unknown future, or saving them from something they may have been capable of doing themselves. Have you ever been in a similar situation? Am I wrong in what I’m saying?

Comments
  1. Sounds like you both did well.

  2. Jane Risdon says:

    Congratulations on this post Linda. People are not saved as such, they have a helping hand to turn themselves around I think but without someone like you it may never have happened or taken a long time. It may have meant his hitting rock bottom before dragging himself back up so with the right person there by his side, rising again is easier and more worthwhile I am sure. Lovely.

    • Thanks Jane, I’m just not comfortable with taking all the credit for something that he may have accomplished himself with time. We’re still together 16 years later so I guess I’m doing something right 🙂

  3. olganm says:

    ‘Save’ is a very big word but it’s true that sometimes people, and sometimes situations, can make big changes in our lives. And you’re right, it’s impossible to know what life would have been like if that hadn’t happened, but still… Sometimes when you’re rolling down a very steep slope it only takes a tiny bump on the way to make the direction change completely.
    Nobody can make somebody else change against their will, but you evidently gave your husband the motivation he needed. So he’s right…in a way.

Leave a Reply

