Passport application

Posted: March 8, 2014 in books

Image

 

I recently went for a passport interview, and it is really quite a daunting experience. After removing your belongings, you get to go through metal detectors and then head off to your interview, where it’s like sitting an oral examination. They ask you all sorts of questions, and for someone like me who is rubbish with dates, it can be hard work. They expected me to know my parents full birth dates, and also the date they got married, I mean I wasn’t exactly around for that. I had to ask my mum for those dates when filling out the application in the first place! The most peculiar question I was asked, was the layout of my house. He wanted me to describe it, from the moment you walked through the front door. How the hell is that relevant to applying for a passport? Besides how would he know if I was lying or not, unless he had blue prints in front of him! The thing that gets me, is that they have your picture on screen in front of them, so they already know it is really you sitting in front of them. Besides all that, I have in fact been abroad five times in my youth, when I was on my mothers passport. I understand security reasons and all that, but the amount of questions I was asked, I half expected them to ask my underwear size! and they say its questions only you should know the answer to, I know my own date of birth and that of my children, I even know my own date of marriage, but my parents? That’s the dates they should know. Anyway I did receive my passport in the end, but I advise anyone going for an interview to revise your family’s history, because you never know what they are going to ask you 🙂

Comments
  1. Jane Risdon says:

    It is all too Big Brother these days and I am so sick of it all. I can understand your feelings. I have just been through a similar situation; claiming my State Pension!! Better be a foreigner and get into the UK and out again with ease and once here do what the hell you like. We natives are aliens in our own land. Happy travels 🙂

    • Very true Jane, he even had me doubting my own identity lol 🙂

      • Jane Risdon says:

        I can believe it. Gone are the days when the plane pulled up on the runway and we all walked out to it carrying our hand luggage and having just flashed our passports at the man standing by the door. Strip-searches? Never heard of them back then. ID theft must have been rare or never heard of. You must be like me and have a guilty looking face! Mind you mum has been searched every time she flies and gets the third degree and she is 84 and looks like Miss Marple.

      • Lol, well I haven’t booked the holiday yet. The last time I was in an airport was when I was 14 so it should be interesting to see just how guilty I look 🙂

      • Jane Risdon says:

        Indeed – I shall await developments.

Leave a Reply

