Misdiagnosed

Posted: May 28, 2014 in books

Image

Most of you who follow me will know, that I tend to gripe on the national health system. But when it takes three medical professionals to diagnose a condition, then that kind of proves my point 🙂

My six-month old came out in a small rash across her forehead. I wasn’t really too concerned, I did all the appropriate checks for meningitis, and put it down to a heat rash. I took her to the doctors for another reason, and while I was there, decided to ask about the rash. She didn’t seem too sure what it could be, and told me that she wanted to try a cream for bacterial infection, and that if it didn’t work then we could try one for fungal infection. I thought it odd because the rash itself didn’t appear infected, if anything it was quite similar to a viral rash. No oozing or pus filled spots were present, but hey, she’s the expert. I started to use the cream, but it seemed to be spreading and rather inflamed. I returned to the doctors, and was given the alternative cream. Again this did nothing, and the rash was now all over her body, her eyes had become puffy where the spots were on the lids. I took her with me to my own appointment, and asked the nurses opinion. She said it looked like an old fashion milk rash, even though my daughter was clearly too old for that. She did advise not to continue with the cream, as she agreed with me, that there was no infection in the spots.

By now I’m really concerned, and tempted to go to A&E with her. My daughter didn’t seem affected by it, no temperatures, or going off her food. She seemed happy enough, if anything, I was more bothered by it than her! I gave the doctors one last chance, they fitted me in where I saw a different doctor. He diagnosed an allergic reaction straightaway, and prescribed anti- histamine, and some cream to help with the itch. It seems to be doing the trick, however I still don’t know what caused it, but he did advise that if I decided to go private to find out, all they prescribe after denting your bank balance is the same thing as my daughter was given. It seems I’m not the only one with a gripe against the medical professionals 🙂

But seriously, aren’t these doctors trained in this sort of thing? How can the first doctor not have known? I don’t blame the nurse, she is not as qualified as a doctor, although apparently some aren’t 🙂

Comments
  1. The medical system is aimed at disease, not health. In my family we have many sensitivities to foods. these are not actually allergies, but do affect us in different ways, digestive, rashes, itchiness, lethargy, puffiness. The most common of these sensitivities, and they are quite common, although doctors will tell you it isn’t so, are; dairy, wheat, soy, corn and eggs. Do your own detective work. Eliminate them each fro three weeks, one at a time, and see how your daughter reacts. If you sue prepared foods make sure you read labels and recognize all the ways labels rename things to hide what they are. There also alternate practitioners that can test for these but not all are legit so that also requires some detective work. I hope this helps. There is obviously something wrong. Putting a baby on anti-histamines and steroid creams (which is likely what that is) is setting her up for lifelong dependency and compromised health.

    • Hi Yvonne, the only thing she eats is the Ella’s kitchen range from 4 months, although I did introduce the vegetable range and it happened not long after that. Other than this it started after she had a bite on her head from a mosquito, and I used germolene on it.

      • I’m not familiar with that brand as we don’t have it in Canada. But there may be foods or ingredients in any brand that will trigger a reaction, especially milk products. This is true even for organic ones. Eggs should not be introduced until 12 mo., same with wheat. Rice is generally OK. (my grandson is 13 mo. now so we’re doing through all this with him.) Vegetables should mostly be OK unless they add other ingredients in the processing. My daughter-in-law makes her own baby food using the “Baby Bullet” blender. It’s quite easy. That way you know what’s in it. My daughter, for instance, is allergic to carageenan, a common stabilizer considered to be safe. You just never know.

      • It’s very frustrating, but according to the back of the packaging, it states there is no dairy, salt, water, sugar, gluten, wheat, lactose, additives, thickeners, E numbers or GM added just totally organic.

      • That sounds pretty safe. It may be a particular food sesitivity or it may not be food at all but the soap, lotion, laundry detergent or any number of other things. One thing that I do know, although I think they have changed the formula since then, is that the liquid used in Swiffer mops is toxic to both animals and people and is absorbed through the skin. It is frustrating, especially when it is your child you are worried about. But detective work can uncover what the trigger is, as a rule. You just have to know how to do it and what to look for, which again, is a learning process. Let me know what you find out. And good luck.

      • thanks Yvonne, however on a return trip to docs, they are now saying it’s a viral infection. This is the fourth doctor I’ve seen, each with a different opinion it’s driving me mad

      • I’d be going crazy, too. And i know of no virus that will last that long on an infant.Poor baby. I hope is clears up soon.

      • Thanks Yvonne 🙂 well it has finally gone, although it has left her with dry skin on her face. I’ve continued with the same food I had been giving her, and it hasn’t flared up again. I’m still none the wiser what may have caused it, but at least it’s gone now 🙂

Leave a Reply

