Does size matter?

Posted: October 12, 2014 in books

size_does_matter_postcard-r469f5f261c6644958bec6274b23dfdfa_vgbaq_8byvr_512

Now I know what you’re thinking, you naughty people! but what I’m actually talking about is book size. When searching for a book, do you take the size into consideration? If it’s too short, would you bother reading it? Or how about if it’s too large? I admit, if I check the page length, and it’s only about 50 pages long, I probably wouldn’t bother, especially if it’s costly, and I have seen authors charge the same price that you would for a full length book. I also admit, that I have bought hardbacks which were the size of bricks, because they were part of a series that I’d been following. They were a bit overwhelming, and did get put to the back of the pile because of their size. I could have read at least three or four books, in the same time it would take me to read just that one mammoth book. So I guess size does matter to me. The same applies with my own books, I constantly check the word count, and try to keep them all roughly the same length. Not brick size, but not newspaper thin either 🙂 I’m actually reading a brick sized book at the moment, 575 pages worth, although I have had bigger 🙂

What about you lot? Does size matter to you?

Comments
  1. Jane Risdon says:

    I do like a thick book but of course not many authors write hugely thick books these days. If written by a favourite author I would go for it, not thinking. If an unknown author I might think twice, especially if expensive. If I don’t like it, then it might be a waste of money etc., Too thin and I might think it is a waste also, but on the other hand it really depends on the story. I’ve just waded through The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett – not his usual thriller, but a huge tome about 11th century stone masons building cathedrals in England. Not my normal read – it was a gift – but I had a go and enjoyed it but was glad when it ended…too much sex in the 11th century in too much graphic detail which to my thinking was totally unnecessary, and could’ve cut a lot of pages from the final book and not made any difference to the story….except for a rape which was revenged years later. His page count is 1088! Depends on the writer and the story I think.

  2. I totally agree with you Jane. The one I’m reading now, is from a series I’ve been following for a long time, otherwise I may have skipped it 🙂 I think, even if I was given a large book as a gift, like you had, I probably would have politely pushed it aside. Especially with a word count like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

