How do they come up with those?

Posted: March 14, 2015 in books

name

`As an author I’m often asked how do I come up with the idea for my characters and their names. In this post I’d like to pose the same question but to the producers of children’s television shows. Through the years I’ve seen many a strange character like Teletubbies and the Boobah’s. With names like Tinky Winky and Dispsy you have to wonder how they came up with those! At the moment my personal favorite is Makka Pakka from In The Night Garden. I’ve been trying to work out what he actually is and I’m thinking he’s supposed to represent some sort of stone since he collects them and lives in a stone cave.

makka

His personal song is entertaining : Makka pakka, akka wakka, ikka, akka, ooo. Hum dum, agga pang mikka makka moo. That’s educational right there! I’d love to meet the creator who sat there night after night thinking up his bio 🙂

(When you spend all day with the program on because your 15 month old loves it you do tend to read into it a little :))

Leave a Reply

