What’s life like living in a big family?

Posted: March 19, 2015 in books

big

I’ve heard people comment on many occasions that they would love to come from or have a big family and that celebrations like Christmas must be awesome. Yeah right! There are ten of us in my household and I can tell you from experience that it is mayhem. Never a day goes past without arguments, someone took my belt, he’s hogging the bathroom etc. It can get so loud that you can’t even hear yourself think! That’s only part of the problem. The rubbish that comes out of this house makes the refuse collectors take a deep breath when they pull up outside my house on collection day. (I know this because I’ve watched from the window 🙂 ) At times it can be like a sea of black bags taking over my front garden. And let’s not forget the laundry. There is no linen basket alive that can hold it and my washing machines hold a very short life expectancy.

All that aside I love my family dearly but sometimes I do wonder what it would be like to be the only person in my house for a day. It can be hard at times especially when I’m trying to concentrate on my writing. Someone always needs something or an argument erupts over the slightest thing. As for Christmas celebrations, let’s just say by the end of the day I am exhausted and glad its over. I don’t get time to enjoy the day since I spend all of it cooking, finding home for the new presents and fighting with those stupid endless tie up things they use to package toys!

So is a big family a must or a bust? You’ve heard my side let’s hear yours 🙂

Comments
  1. Love this! I’m one of seven and relate entirely. Thanks for sharing! If you’re ever interested in some awesome book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

