Bad Parent?

Posted: July 16, 2015 in books

bad parent

Here’s a situation for all you parent’s out there. My son is sixteen and he met a girl when we went on holiday. This girl lives about an hour and a half train ride from where we live so that doesn’t exactly help their relationship. He seems besotted with her and they have been together for a year. They spend all day either messaging or talking on “face time.” Not wanting to see my son so upset over the fact that they don’t get to see each other, I’ve allowed him to go up there once a week to visit her. it started out with him taking a friend along but obviously this isn’t always convenient so now he goes alone. My question to all of you is does it make me a bad parent to allow him to travel alone? I admit that I hate it since its so far and I do insist that he informs me of his arrival and when he leaves. I also keep in regular contact during his time there but I’ve recently been accused of being a bad parent. I can’t bring myself to forbid him from seeing her that to me would be heartbreaking. He gets so excited the night before and even when he returns they are still talking on the phone even though they have just been with each other.

What are your views on this? Drop your comments below.

Leave a Reply

