Compulsory birth control

Posted: September 24, 2015 in books

image

I’m probably going to get slammed for this I can’t see why but I’m going ahead anyway. In my opinion there are too many teens thinking motherhood is like a much wanted Christmas present and they will do anything to get it. It’s hard work and something that is not necessary in your teenage years. You should be enjoying life, traveling, getting a career behind you and spending time with friends. You don’t need a baby to prove how much you love your boyfriend, or see it as a way to assure that they stay with you. While most councils are trying to make it harder for young people to get housed in a bid to cut teenage pregnancy why don’t they enforce another solution. If they made birth control compulsory for teenage girls surely this would prevent the rise in teen pregnancy. Some may say it’s a breech of human rights but what about that teenagers right to a life? I was 18 when I had my first child and if I had the option to go back and change it I would. I love my kids but I missed out on a lot. My eldest had my grandson at 16 and despite the fact that I love him to pieces if there had been some kind of compulsory birth control in place at the time I wouldn’t have hesitated. The same goes for my other girls. There is no need for these children raising children and I really think this would be a good solution.

What are your views?

Leave a Reply

