Have you ever felt replaced?

Posted: October 10, 2015 in books

image

Have you ever felt replaced by a loved one? When our kids get older and commit with their significant other naturally they gain in laws. You may feel a tinge of jealousy knowing that your son/daughter is on good terms with their partners mother but my situation is a little different. My son left on bad terms, he’s still only a baby in my eyes, sixteen just turned but he left because I wouldn’t give him the unlimited freedom that he wanted. He moved into his girlfriends parents house and would rather live there than with me. He raves about how fun her mother is and how they sit and watch TV all night and that her whites come out whiter than mine in the wash and that I should use what she does, and any other comparison he can throw my way. Little things like that hurt. Was she there when he had colic and spent endless nights walking up and down with him trying to rock him to sleep, or when he ended up in hospital in an oxygen tent after catching an infection? I raised that boy for sixteen years, gave him everything he ever asked for and now all I’m worth is an occasional text! He has ruined my trust in the rest of my children I’m just waiting for the day when they also turn round and rip my heart out. It’s a horrible feeling being replaced as a mother and one that I can do nothing about. Have you ever been through this? If so I’d love to hear from you 😀

Leave a Reply

