Teetotal

Posted: October 11, 2015 in books

image

This is for all you teetotal people out there. Have you ever been accused of being boring? I have many times and it is extremely annoying. The thing is, more often than not there are reasons behind this aversion to alcohol. Maybe you have been a victim of abuse at the hands of someone who is an alcoholic or you yourself have experienced something under the influence of alcohol that was so traumatic you’ve never touched a drop since. Like me, it may just be that you don’t like the loss of control alcohol causes when drunk in large quantities. I prefer to have full control of my body and my mouth, I have witnessed so many people making complete fools of themselves under the influence and I cringe at the thought of behaving that way. People say it’s their way of relaxing and that’s fine but don’t criticise me if a cup of coffee is my way. I don’t need a skin full of alcohol to have a good time and if that’s the only way you can then sadly it’s you that has the problem. I understand that some people feel the need to drown their sorrows and the numbness it brings may be a temporary relief. I also crave that relief but trying to convince me that this is a solution in order to get me to join your pity party just won’t work. I don’t need to drink in order to offer support or have a good time so please keep your opinions to yourself thank you.

Leave a Reply

