Christmas blues

Posted: November 4, 2015 in books

image

Christmas is supposed to be a time of celebration, joy and family get togethers but it’s not always the case. I find it the most stressful time of the year. I hate the struggle to buy presents for everyone when I barely have the money to pay the bills but I won’t let my family go without, I couldn’t bare to see the disappointment on my kids faces. There is always one item that goes out of stock and you absolutely have to have it so you spend hours searching for somewhere that has stock. Then there’s the endless lines at the checkout while you have restless children driving you nuts wanting to go home. Not forgetting the extortionate amount of money that you pay out for Christmas dinner, it’s one meal! You get to play hide the presents which is difficult when lacking storage space and finding time to wrap them without being caught is like mission impossible and this is just the lead up. On Christmas Day it’s absolute chaos in my house. Everyone wants their toys open at once. The stupid tie ups that hold them in the boxes I swear are there to test your patience and you spend the rest of the day finding little bits of plastic from the packaging. Then there’s dinner to cook and serve. By the end of the day I’m glad it’s all over. Christmas for me is my least favourite time of the year, full of stress and expenses I could do without and all for one day.

Leave a Reply

