Hate leaving bad reviews?

Posted: January 10, 2016 in books

image.png

Have you ever read a book that you really hate, but couldn’t bring yourself to leave a review? I really hate leaving bad reviews. As an author, getting a bad review is horrible. The trouble with bad reviews is that it can put people off buying the book, but at the end of the day it is that persons opinion. There could be several reasons why they didn’t like the book. It may not be their typical genre, but they had decided to try something new and didn’t like it. That doesn’t mean someone else wouldn’t enjoy reading it, someone who actually likes that particular genre.

It’s difficult, especially when most people rely on reviews before purchasing. I have bought books that have had terrible reviews, yet really enjoyed them. I know authors like to have feedback so it can improve future WIP’S but perhaps considering your words would be kinder. I have seen reviews where books have been totally ripped apart, is that really necessary? Fine, you don’t like the book, would it kill you to just say, ‘not to my taste but maybe others will enjoy it’. If I really don’t like a book, I generally refrain from leaving a review. I know all the blood, sweat and tears that have gone into that authors work. It’s heartbreaking to have someone point out every little mistake.

Comments
  1. I don’t agree with going full-on Mean Girl in reviews, but I think bad reviews are necessary. I don’t agree with the ‘just don’t leave a review’ policy, because if all the author gets is positive reviews, and their work really could use an improvement…how are you helping? You’re not. You’re re-enforcing through omission the fact that they’re a great writer.
    Again, I don’t agree with being catty or downright mean, but yes, I will “rip a book apart”. I will point out plotholes. I will poke at the need for re-editing if I’m seeing spelling and punctuation mistakes every single chapter. I will point out cardboard cutout characters and unrealistic dialogue. There’s a difference between leaving a mean bad review and leaving an honest bad review.
    I also grade weighted. If I’m reading a book that’s outside my normal genre reading… and the only thing that I can point out is that I didn’t really get into it because it wasn’t my normal read? I’m not going to give it a 1 or 2 or something like that, AND I’m going to note it in my review that it just wasn’t my type of book. Those books end up getting a 3 average from me for the most part.

    I love seeing this pop up as a topic for discussion. Its good to see people’s viewpoints.

  2. All good points, and I’m glad that you’re not a mean reviewer, there are far too many out there. I just really can’t bring myself to leave a review where I’m stating that I would have rather had root canal lol. But again, not leaving a review doesn’t necessarily portray them as a great writer. If they already have scores of good reviews, and I really hated it, not leaving one myself doesn’t really count if clearly I’m the only one who didn’t like it 😀

  3. I agree with this. Though I would probably offer objective criticism in a polite fashion to smaller, less known authors. Because really, would Stephen King give a crap if someone hated one of his books? It happens. Writers will always have people that love them, tolerate them, and hate them. That’s how it is with the arts.

Leave a Reply

