What do you believe in?

Posted: January 23, 2016 in books

image

I may have mentioned this before but I was talking about it the other day, and feel the need to mention it. I’m often asked what I believe in and while I’m not entirely sure, I would have to say that I believe things happen for a reason. Fate. My life hasn’t been an easy one, but then whose is? I’ve faced many struggles, heartbreak, things that I never thought I’d come back from. Even now, I’m facing more heartbreak and uncertainty. Will I pray for assistance? No. I have no faith that I follow, nothing has ever given me a reason to believe that a simple prayer will help me in anyway. I know many people believe that there is a god. Obviously we got here somehow, and I don’t want to get into a debate about whether he exists or not. If that’s what you wish to believe then you do that but for me, I struggle with the notion.

One thing that I have learned through my struggles is to become a stronger person, less sensitive and more guarded with my emotions. It’s not a good thing for the people around me, they were used to my affectionate side, but it is the only way I can cope with what’s going on around me. If I give in, I will fall apart and that really doesn’t help matters either. To distance yourself is kind of a coping mechanism, the downfall to this newfound strength is that people see you as an offload for their problems and emotional baggage, but I continue to take what’s thrown my way and keep it at arms length. If my life is one major mission to see how much crap I can take before I fall, then bring it on. I don’t know whatever fate lies ahead for me, or even if there is a purpose for these tests of sanity sent my way, but I guess one day I’m going to find out whether it has all been for nothing. Do you believe in fate?

Leave a Reply

